01
Aug
07

Who had one of these? – Intellivision

Memories… I remember saving my dollars and buying, what I thought was, the best Console available.  I think it cost me around AUD$300, not sure though, whatever it did cost it was a tonne of cash back then and heaps more than the Atari.

The Intellivision was introduced a few years after the Atari and was the world’s first 16-bit game console. I loved  the controllers and their built-in keypad. The games came with an overlay that slid in and covered the keypad. The graphics and sound , wow, there wasn’t anything better.

Here’s a couple of photos (all pics are clickable to full size) of the system and three games that I remember I had, Baseball, Night Stalker, and Space Battle. I am sure I had a heap more but they are the ones I must have played the most. The games shown below are the Overlays for the controllers, the boxes and links to youtube videos of the gameplay (geez, youtube has everything!) . A site, Intellivision Lives, even lets you download around half a dozen of the games free and have even made a Nintendo DS version (although no company has picked it up to sell).

Intellivision – the PS3 of the ’80s !

(BTW, if anyone sees one of these for sale on the Gold Coast, let me know. I would love to have one again.)

intv console

intv controller

intv baseball   youtube Baseball intv baseball box

intv night stalker youtube NightStalker intv night stalker box

 intv space intv space battle box

………………

Thanks to Duncan , CoachBenedictHomemom , Goldy , BlogOp for all the comments on previous posts.


13 Responses to “Who had one of these? – Intellivision”


  1. August 1, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    OMgosh I remember this. My parents had this in the house growing up. Course later I would totally forget it and ask them what the handle was with all the buttons. Seeing this just brought back some old memories. Thanks.

  2. August 2, 2007 at 9:41 am

    I haven’t heard of this 😦 It is not for me anyway:)

  3. 3 Meg
    August 4, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    Yes I had Intellivision! I remember the Skiing program, and how the audience would still cheer even when I ran them over! Imagine how kids today would laugh at the rudimentary graphics, which were state of the art back then.

  4. August 4, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Meg, that’s right. I had the skiing game as well.
    I am sure if I showed my son that’s 9 year old, he would laugh and wonder how on earth anyone could play it 🙂

  5. August 17, 2007 at 9:11 am

    I remember when we got to borrow one from friends. We had it for a weekend. It was ground breaking. Then I was lucky enough to get an Atari 2600. Good times, good times.

  6. September 23, 2007 at 10:02 am

    Heh heh, my parents had one of these when I was a teenager! I remember the skiing one well. I also remember one called Bi-planes (I think) that my brother and I played for hours.

    My father was absolutely obsessed with the games and would practice all the time so he could brag about beating all of us kids. Wonderful memories! (BTW, the only time I ever used the F-word in front of my parents was when I crashed a bi-plane. I didn’t even know I had done it; I just looked up and everyone was looking at me sort of shocked. My little brother had to tell me what I said sometime later in the day! I was quite embarrassed.)

  7. September 23, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Thanks for the great comment Mark.I really appreciate it.

    I keep visiting your fantastic site but you haven’t done any updates in a while. Please keep going.
    cheers,

  8. September 24, 2007 at 7:29 am

    I’m just now starting a new review! I’ve had some family problems lately that have kept me from my online pastimes, but I think I’ll be getting back into the groove of things soon.

  9. September 24, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Sorry about the family problems but glad you are doing another review.

  10. September 25, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Great find! Does anyone also remember Collecovision. I’m not sure on the spelling of that one but a classic find none the less.

  11. 11 Denis
    December 1, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Great System… But NOT 16 Bit

  12. 12 Brad
    June 24, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Right, not 16-bit. I still have my parents system, in working condition with about 15 games. My favorites are AD&D Treasure of Tarmin and Cloudy Mountain. Both were awesome even for a dino of a system.


Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 424,832 people have visited here this month.

