08
May
07

Mouse Jiggler

Some days it seems like there’s an invention for everything. A case in point: The Mouse Jiggler, a USB device that keeps your pointer in motion so your screen saver never kicks in when you wander away from your computer.

Maybe you need yet another USB gizmo, but wouldn’t it be a whole lot easier to just use the Display control panel?

Well, let me tell you – not everyone has access to the control panel to change the screen saver. The company I work for has recently implemented a new screen-saver that times in at around 8 minutes – all screen saver settings are greyed out.

Why would they do this, well to comply with some US corporate law (I am in Australia remember and work for an Australian owned company!) Thanks to the US we have to comply which makes my job a pain sometimes – I need to run tests and do a few things then get back to the notebook and type stuff in, half the time the screen saver is on and I need to type the paswword again…and again…and again. You have no idea what a pain this is when you have done it dozens of times a day.

This gizmo would be perfect.

Info from WiebeTech

Social Bookmarks:

2 Responses to “Mouse Jiggler”


  1. May 8, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    I must say my intitial reaction too was why would you need it – makes perfect sense when you consider that not everyone has permissions to change settings. On that note I get very frustrated by just that at work. I know more about IT than some of the people in our support department but they won’t give admin privileges. Oh well something else for me to gripe about I suppose.

  2. May 8, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    We have admin rights but XP itself gets internal changes. We have a different XP build than what you can buy.
    It would have been nice if we were asked if it would suit our work though.


Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 424,801 people have visited here this month.

