08
May
07

Do Not Call!

I have just read Can’t Coach Thats post about telemarketing and agree with it all. I understand that the businesses are trying to make maoney and that the people phoning are just doing their job – just don’t call me.

What I didn’t realise was that there is a Government register set up so you won’t receive these annoying calls in the middle of you dinner.

Here it is, go there now and register your phone numbers – https://www.donotcall.gov.au/

I have registered with a gmail account – the activation email went straight to the junk mail folder so make sure you check there.

Social Bookmarks:


8 Responses to “Do Not Call!”


  1. May 8, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    I used to work in a telemarketing place. I couldn’t do it for long, my conscience got the better of me and i had to quit.

    Since it was a sales department everything was results driven and there was much pressure to meet a lead quota. To do that you had to talk people into spending money they often didn’t have. On many occasions i had people break down on the phone, get aggressive and yell profanities at the top of their lungs, threaten me, etc. That’s why i couldn’t do it any more.

    We also did door knocking, unfortunately i don’t think there’s a register for that and most people ignore those signs on the door anyway. Again i had threats, aggression and people breaking down.

    All of this because the level of management above the position i was working put pressure on me, as they received pressure from the level above them and so on. There was really only so much of this that i could take before i threw in the towel.

  2. May 8, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    Door to door – I don’t know how you could do that. You actually face peopel and try to palm stuff off to them at least phone marketing your are anonomous.

  3. May 9, 2007 at 5:22 am

    That’s a good idea, we have a similar scheme called the TPS: Get called by a telemarketer, mention those 3 letters and watch them disappear in a cloud of dust!

    😀

  4. May 9, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    They had a segment on Brisbane Extra about this issue this afternoon.

  5. May 11, 2007 at 2:44 am

    Thanks for the link, I’m going to sign it now. Last night I got three calls from one of those, course its the type that rings when you call back. ERRRRRR. It was on my unlisted cell number at that.

  6. May 11, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Just remember this is for Australia.

  7. May 22, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    I registered a couple of weeks ago and am looking forward to the respite from the numerous polite but persistent callers from India – Often Telstra who have no hope of matching my current cable download limit at a comparable price. Having a download limit at all is bad enough!

  8. May 22, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    I have never had an Indian call centre phone me about Telstra – it is usually some other phone provider.

    Sue, what do you pay for your optus cable?


Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 425,224 people have visited here this month.

