05
Apr
07

I want to be like RT!

OK, all this talk around the traps about getting links, getting advert money, being famous , makes me want.

Want what? Well I would like to earn $10000 per month just like RT is (I’m sure he does).

What do I need to do folks? I need to change from my free wordpress.com site to a hosted one. I am new at this so how do I do it, I don’t want to start from scratch so I would like this site to transfer over to the new one.

Come on people…hints, tips, guides are needed (then after all that I will probably say it’s too hard and stick to what I have 🙂 )

Social Bookmarks:

10 Responses to “I want to be like RT!”


  1. April 5, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    First off, get yourself a domain from godaddy.com. They’ve got good prices. Then click the link for hosting on CruftBucket and get hosting with Site5, they’re good and if you click that link i get $20. 😉

    Once you’ve got your domain and hosting sorted you get a copy of WordPress from wordpress.org, set it up on your new host and then migrate the data over from your old wordpress.com account.

  2. April 5, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Oh and as for RT, i don’t think he’d be anywhere near $10k. But he’d be in a better place than making nothing from his blog. 🙂

  3. 3 wai
    April 5, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    wordpress has a feature that allows you to export all your posts into a xml file, which you can then import them to your new blog.

    Site Admin > Manage > Import / Export

    However, I have not tried WordPress.com, I can’t tell you how to migrate your uploaded files.

  4. April 6, 2007 at 12:51 am

    Yeah, drop a few zeros off of that number.

  5. April 6, 2007 at 8:50 am

    No-one took me seriously about the $10K did they?

  6. April 6, 2007 at 9:03 am

    No. :p

    WordPress also has a feature that allows you to import from an existing blog or blog service such as wordpress.com.

  7. April 8, 2007 at 6:30 am

    I may have written a couple of posts on this very subject. 😉

    Check out ‘How to setup a blog’ parts 1&2 on Blog-Op, and feel free to ask questions 🙂

  8. April 8, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks Chris. Would I lose any kind of popularity link wise, by changing?

  9. April 9, 2007 at 6:52 am

    You need to be careful, but in the long run it’s well worth it.

    I would say get a domain name NOW, and point it here. Ask everyone linking to you to change the URL to the new domain, and make sure you use the new one everywhere you drop a link.

    Then when you point the domain to your self-hosted blog, most of your links should follow. Don’t delete this blog, just re-direct any stragglers to the new one.

  10. April 20, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Great intro to WordPress here http://www.solostream.com/2006/10/30/video-introduction-to-wordpress/
    also this
    http://www.webmonkey.com/webmonkey/06/22/index3a.html

    The others are right. If you want to be in the game for the long haul, your own domain is a must. Of course, there are some famous bloggers who never got around to it and remain famous and successful even though their domain is fancypants.typepad.com or whatever – but they got in early and early is gone.

    And as a suggestion for your present readers, post about it on the existing blog, let them know the new address. And use the option in your wordpress.com site to put a static page with an announcement and a call to visit the new site, as your front page, with a link to your new address: Options -> Reading.


Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 424,460 people have visited here this month.

