13
Feb
07

Vista, WinRAR and Office 2007

WinRARI have recently installed Vista Premium and decided to install WinRAR, a great little compression tool.

I installed the demo of WinRar3.62 – the latest non-beta release but unfortunately Vista asks for permission every time I want to use it. I looked on the RarLab site and searched Google and found v3.70Beta3 is meant to work fine with Vista.

So I uninstalled 3.62 and installed 3.70Beta3 but the problem still existed. Vista still asks for permission to let WinRar run, even if I am just using the right click context.

I thought that maybe the v3.62 doesn’t uninstall completely and RarLab could let me know what entries should be deleted etc. for a complete uninstall so I can try again.

I emailed RarLab about the problem and they said they have had many people with the same problem. My fault was that I installed 3.62 first then 3.70b3 – somehow Vista keeps some 3.62 details and it is 3.62 that isn’t Vista compatible.

Rarlabs suggested to either install 3.70Beta3 to a new directory or use regedit and delete all WinRar entries before installing 3.70B3. I did the second idea and it works great. 

Fantastic help from Eugene at RARlabs, thank you!!!

Office 2007 was installed last night, I have only looked at Outlook 2007 so far and it seems to work great except … Hotmail doesn’t work via Outlook2007, it used to with Outlook2003 . I think they want you to use the paid version of Hotmail – I aint paying for that, I paid enough for Office2007! A bit cheeky that they took this feature away from me, it was working fine on XP/Outlook2003 only a few days ago 😦

I have emailed Microsoft, let’s see if I get a reply.


2 Responses to “Vista, WinRAR and Office 2007”


  1. 1 Rob
    February 28, 2007 at 1:10 am

    I had the same problem with Vista and Winrar 3.62.
    I de-installed 3.62, removed all Winrar entries from the registry and installed Winrar 3.7 beta 3 after that. Everything worked fine again! 😀

  2. February 28, 2007 at 10:01 am

    Yep, thats what I did, Rob.
    Thanks for the comment.

    Any other problems with Vista? I am still waiting for itunes from Apple!!


Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 424,460 people have visited here this month.

