19
Jan
07

Download Windows Vista.

I have just been reading an article asking the question “would you download Vista if it was available?”

For me the only way I would download it is if it was much, much cheaper. I don’t want the hassle of downloading and having no physical item and then be charged the same or similar price to a boxed version. For me it must be at least 25% cheaper and I bet that won’t happen.

Speaking of prices, I have read that Australian prices are up to about 100% more expensive than buying in the US, and that is paying postage to get it here! Not fair Microsoft. And of course this won’t be available in my country either nor is the Family pack where you can buy 3 Vistas at a discount.

vistasoonThe Vista announcement about upgrade pricing that Microsoft mentions making Vista and Office 2007 available to consumers for download from the Microsoft Windows Marketplace. The versions available for download are Vista Home Basic, Home Premium, Business and Ultimate. The pic to the left is a preview at the market place (click for big).

My question: Who will want to purchase Vista via download? Forget the whole issue of the dependability and speed of your broadband connection. Why wouldn’t you just go buy a DVD copy, if you’re not planning to do what most purchasers will and simply wait until you need a new Windows PC and purchase Vista preloaded?

Yes, I realize some corporate customers prefer to obtain Vista via download, as do testers and developers via MSDN. But I’m asking whether plain-old users like you and me, might be interested in doing the same.

Or, maybe, the person who would consider downloading Vista probably won’t download it from Marketplace but from a more illegal way.


0 Responses to “Download Windows Vista.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 425,224 people have visited here this month.

