30
Oct
06

Ten reasons not to use Firefox 2.0

firefox not goodI prefer to use IE7 but sometimes use Firefox 1.5 – maybe it’s best to steer away from v2.0!

  1. The new theme is too bulky, inconsistent on different platforms, and inferior to the highly refined and very user friendly theme of 1.5 (this is despite late efforts by Mozilla to spruce up the icon set and improve consistency)
  2. Antiphishing technology is both weak (blacklist based) and a potential privacy problem. The privacy issues are raised because Firefox 2.0 Antiphishing Features employ an engine previously released byGoogle, which has been shown to potentially cause privacy risk
  3. The new Options dialog box is confusing, poorly designed, and illogically hides important features
  4. There are many reported compatibility issues with the large existing libraries of extensions, themes, and plugins currently avaialble for earlier versions of Firefox. While this can, to some degree, be expected, the loss of this huge user contributed extension base is a non-trivial problem with Firefox 2.0, and could be a deal breaker for some people all by itself
  5. The well known memory leak issue, which causes the Firefox browser to consume ever increasing amounts of RAM, eventually leading to sluggish performance and crashes, has been carried over into yet another generation. This is despite an enormous amount of public commentary and user requests for resolution prior to release of a new version of Firefox
  6. There are reported problems with the CSS engine in Firefox 2.0, affecting various websites, and making certain features unavailable to surfers. Notable among these is a continued problem with certain aspects of Yahoo! mail
  7. Reports indicate that episodes of random freezing during use are worse with the 2.0 version, though a cause has not yet been isolated
  8. RSS feed handling has taken a step backwards, and is inferior to that of IE7.
  9. Numerous users have reported that the History bar is buggy, and that in some instances – for unknown reasons – will not display recent items when the history menu is opened as a side panel
  10. SecurityFocus reports an unpatched highly critical vulnerability in Firefox 2.0. This defect has been known since June 2006 but no patch has yet been made available. The developers claimed to have fixed the problem in 1.5.0.5 according to Secunia, but the problem still exists in 2.0 according to SecurityFocus (and I have witnessed the crash personally). If security is the main reason users should switch to Firefox, how do we explain known vulnerabilities remaining unpatched across major releases?

from: listvine.com/2006/10/25/9-reasons-not-to-upgrade-to-firefox-20/


18 Responses to “Ten reasons not to use Firefox 2.0”


  1. November 1, 2006 at 9:05 am

    5. he well known memory leak issue

    Missing a T in The?

    Why are you backing Microsoft over Mozilla :(?

  2. November 1, 2006 at 8:31 pm

    thanks for the spell check 🙂

    I just prefer IE7, have been using it for ages. I use FF on another PC but like IE.
    I like the way Favourites/ Bookmarks work on IE over FF and small usability things. I have asked how to do certain things with FF but the answer I got was ‘learn to do it another’ way or ‘don’t do it like that’ no the answer I wanted.
    The reason for the post was there are so many pro FF posts and ones saying anything MS is evil…

  3. November 6, 2006 at 5:03 am

    I gotta disagree. I think FF has a better interface and less bugs, + FF is more webmaster friendly.

  4. November 6, 2006 at 12:30 pm

    what bugs have you seen in ie7?
    FF, for me, is very poor in usability – things I want to do, I need to install plugins or use the silly config:about thing.
    I have no problems making sites and using ie7, once again what problems have you had with ie7 and making websites?

    thanks for the comments anyway.

  5. January 1, 2007 at 10:31 am

    I have deleted some comments after being listed on Digg.
    Some fools called me an idiot or that Microsoft paid me, didn’t they see that I quoted from ListVine? Wankers!

  6. 6 steve
    January 3, 2007 at 1:50 am

    If you offered me $250/mo. to use IE7, instead of Firefox, you’d be able to keep your cash.

    Usability, Features, Standards, etc. in Firefox far surpass that of IE7.

    Drag a link to a new tab? Nope! Denied!

    Type in a partial url in the address bar… then check something on another tab, then go back to the first tab?… Pow! no more url

    Tried zooming any form controls in IE7? yikes!

    Frames?! OMG that’s a mess!

    Web Developer? If so, you know that the refresh button being locked in the upper right corner is *the* most annoying spot it could ever be placed.

    Oh, you wanted more than 6 tabs? Better hope you’re not in IE7!

  7. January 3, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Steve. Although your comments are not related to the ten points it is good someone has a valid opinion and can state it not like previous deleted comments.

    I have no idea what you mean about six tabs – I currently have 14 tab showing and another 3 hidden and I can click the little Quick Tabs and see a small preview of every tab on one page. ?? have I missed something?

    Drag a link – I just click the middle button instead – never even thought of doing it the slower way.

    Usabilty is a very subjective thing and I prefer how IE7 handles tab and favourites better than FF.

    Plus not all of the points are saying ie7 is better than ff2 – they are saying ff1.5 is better than v2.

    Now I don’t like how big the address bar is – the old ie6 I could size it down and they took some features out of the final beta and final ie7 that were good, most notible the restore all tabs that were open when ie7 closed down.
    Hey, nothing is perfect but for me ie7 is better than v2 of FF.

  8. 8 MattLee
    January 8, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    only ppl i have ever seen support internet explorer over the firefox r either those who used internet explorer all their lives and refuse to move on or those who r paid to support internet explorer
    shall we do the comparison
    firefox: highly customizable thru extensions and about:config settings. can fix memory leak, increase speed, block both flash and normal ads. the list goes on cause of the customizability of firefox
    ie7: rip off of old firefox. uses active x, known for countless security flaws, not near as customizable as firefox.
    conclussion: if u want bigger security risks, less customization, active x and more annoyances then ie is the browser for u but if u want more customization and better security then ie is not for u.

    edit… nice spelling you have matty, I guess your keyboard doesn’t work correctly!

  9. January 8, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    Thanks Matt.
    I have said above , it is mainly saying stick with v1.5 of FF. (plus at the bottom says it was from Listvine not me)
    I have already mentioned how crappy the config thing is (close comparison to say avant browser/ maxthon using all the hidden config settings for IE) Why don’t they have an advanced user setting for this.
    Increased speed – not noticable between all four browsers with normal usage.
    Ads get blocked by my firewall.
    Has the mem leak been fixed in the latest version of FF or do you mean that users have to track down the fix?

    BTW I use IE7, IE6 and FF1.5 and FF2.0 – at home and at work, all about evenly – at the moment I prefer the usabilty (like I said – ‘For Me’) of IE7.
    I don’t know of the countless flaws of IE7 (I do of IE6 – but as I don’t get hacked/attacked and eventually (sometimes very slowly) the holes get plugged, I haven’t got a concern there. sorry.

    One thing I don’t like about IE7 is my NowPublic plug-in for FF doesn’t work because of it 😦

    Steve posted above about if you want more than 6 tabs you can’t do it in ie7 – yes you can – what does he mean, please?

  10. November 29, 2007 at 9:39 am

    you should try both mate, especially as a developer.

    otherwise, act like my grandma – she doesn’t like DOM play.

    Cheers,

    Vladimir

  11. 11 Live the reality!
    January 18, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Im not backing Microsoft, but Firefox is really a mess to use. Man! too complicated to set up, IE lacks several good things Firefox does have but at least those few features are easy to configure. When I used Firefox, my PC got pretty slow, and now I know who was responsible for that. About security certainly IE is pretty weak, but it doesn’t mean Firefox is the perfect Bodyguard with two 12 gauge fully loaded for your PC. One thing that I liked from Firefox was the little time pages take to load on, quicker than IE. But the average of “Page error” is less in IE than in Firefox. And so on, both have features that do better than the other one, but none of them have really got closer to a highly realiable Browser. So if I had to decide between them, I might end using Mosaic! LoL

  12. January 18, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Great comment Live the Reality ! appreciated.

  13. 13 de_zwaluw
    March 14, 2008 at 6:17 am

    OMG, Firefox is a JOKE! If it can’t support ALL OS’s properly, why is it so darned popular?? I mean, on my Vista-fitted laptop all other browsers work well, except for the supposedly kind of browsers, Firefox, which causes my PC to halt and get a Blue Screen of Death, and reboot. It even influences the other browsers once the crashing has started, so the only thing that helps is a system restore, which is pitiful considering we’re talking about a browser, not some Windows component-altering program that might have a potential of screwing up my system. Geez. Power to IE.

  14. 14 Mike
    May 20, 2008 at 7:41 am

    I have Windows Vista and use Firefox and have never had any problems what so ever.

  15. May 20, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Hmmm, dunno about the list that you published here, but I have to use IE 7 at work because the developer that created our HD ticket system designed it so I had no other choice 😦

    When this version was released, and I *had* to switch from FireFox to IE 7, the first thing that I noticed was that pages viewed in IE7 took nearly twice as long as those in FireFox to load.

    I’ve got to admit I’ve never come across any BSOD’s or any other issues that have been mentioned in this article; and I’ve used FF extensively on both Windows and Linux.

    Personally, I think that people will use whatever browser that they are comfortable with. I have 10 years+ in IT and wouldn’t use IE by choice if you paid me; then again, I know plenty others with similar levels of experience who think the same of IE and won’t touch FF :-/

  16. May 20, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Hi Andrew. I wrote this back in 2006 when v2 just got released . FF1.5 was much better than v2 at first. This list was actually copied from listvive (I did mention that ) but still didn’t stop people saying how stupid I was and attacking me – I deleted most of them. The post is comparing FF1.5 to 2.0 but most people thought I was saying go to IE7.

    I use FF2 at work and IE6 (need both at work) at home I prefer IE7, just like the way it works compared to FF, especially tabs.

    Thanks for the comment.

  17. 17 Lance Montanari
    December 6, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    I’m adding your blog rss feed so that i can see your new posts. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 425,815 people have visited here this month.

