17
Oct
06

iPod Nano software update – 1.3

The original iPod Nano has a software update available. Mainly for various language support in the Nike gizmo add-on but there are bug fixes.

The big bug for me, which made me go back to v1.1 was when playing Audiobooks the iPod would freeze for ten seconds or so. The audio would play but the menu system was frozen and would except any clicks to pause , stop, volume etc.

I have been told v1.3 fixes this problem.

Now the hassle… I am guessing you can only get via itunes7 – and I am not installing that lump of super buggy software on my PC, I’ll wait until it is sorted out as well.


25 Responses to “iPod Nano software update – 1.3”


  1. 1 mike
    November 3, 2006 at 9:37 am

     i want v1.3 as well

  2. 2 BobW
    November 6, 2006 at 3:13 am

    I have experienced the 10 second freeze with 1.2 but have been living with it for a very important reason. 1.2 was the first iPod update that fixed the problem of an iPod losing your position in an audiobook. I gladly put up with the short menu freeze to avoid having to reposition the audiobook after every sync.

    Sadly 1.3 fixes the freeze problem but restores the “losing position” problem. Why can’t Apple fix this?

  3. November 6, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    I have only ever noticed the ‘losing position’ once with v1.1
    Every other time has been fine. My audiobooks are divided up into Cd length tracks – are yours longer/shorter?

  4. 4 keith2007
    January 15, 2007 at 9:23 am

    do they fix the problem v1.3?

    i update today.

  5. January 15, 2007 at 10:51 am

    I have been using update 1.3 for a little while.
    I don’t seem to have problems at all with audio books.

  6. 6 Bloke
    April 23, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Does anyone have a link to show what bug fixes are included with this update?

  7. April 24, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Bloke, there is 1.3.1 out now but I have no idea what the fixes are.
    1.3 worked better with Audiobooks and Nike+ for me.

  8. 8 Greg Ostravich
    June 11, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    For audio books if you update to the newer (1.3?) firmware and iTunes there are options when you do a ‘Get Info’ to allow you to remember your position on a file and to not shuffle that file in with your music. I had audiobooks which were renamed AAC files (to the filename M4B) and they were treated as audio books. Under the new firmware I don’t do that anymore and just use Get Info. If you have audiobooks you’ve purchased, then that could be an issue. But if you just use regular MP3 or AAC you can make the files so that your iPod remembers the position.

  9. June 11, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    thanks Greg. That is correct but unfortunately itunes won’t put them in the audio book section on the ipod, for that they must be .m4b or .aa files.

  10. 10 zikooo
    August 14, 2007 at 9:59 am

    thanks greg

  11. 11 jonny_eh
    August 29, 2007 at 5:56 am

    It seems as though the audiobooks only lose their bookmarks when the length is greater than approx. 1 hour. It doesn’t affect Audible (.aa) books. I don’t remember always having this problem, but that’s probably because I had the aforementioned 1.2 firmware. Is there a way for me to downgrade back to that version?

    Thanks.

  12. August 29, 2007 at 7:23 am

    Thanks for the comment Jonny.
    I used to be able to go back to the original firmware version when I was using itunes v6 because the updater was a seperate program but since v7 of iTunes it doesn’t seem like you can. I tried just the other day and all it does is install the latest firmware.
    Maybe if you could find the original updater software (on the CD maybe) you can use that – make sure itunes isn’t running.

  13. 13 jonny_eh
    August 31, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    I found the 1.2 firmware in a Mac iPod updater, 2006-06-28, that did the job. My audiobooks no longer lose their bookmarks! Only the mac version worked though, the windows version still had the losing bookmark bug.

    It’s available from the apple site.

  14. September 1, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    Good news Jonny, thanks for letting me know.

  15. September 13, 2007 at 10:19 am

    click the link below to download ipod updater 1.3.
    Link Here..

  16. 16 DD
    February 6, 2008 at 7:09 am

    I download the updater 1.3 for update my Ipod nano 1st Generation and I installed it, but when I execute it show a message that say Error en el servicio del Ipod (Wrong Ipod Service).
    Tell me what to do…

  17. February 6, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    DD, I don’t know if you can use the 1.3 updater if you are using v7 of iTunes. After version 6 of iTunes you do all updating via iTunes itself, not with seperate updates. try that and see if it works.

    thank you for visiting and commenting.

  18. 18 Michael
    June 23, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Thanks for the great article. Keep up the good work.

  19. July 30, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    I have the new version and it wotks fine for me. as for the iTunes7 it works fine for me

  20. 20 Adrian
    August 16, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    I also want v1.3

  21. 21 tmlog
    September 30, 2008 at 5:22 am

    pls any body with ipod ver 1.3.1 or any version offline updater..

  22. 22 tmlog
    September 30, 2008 at 5:59 am

    kindly get back to me at tmlog002@yahoo.ca

  23. September 30, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    tmlog, you can still download v1.2 from Apple or use the version that came on the CD that came with the 1st generation Nano.
    v1.3 onwards is only available via itunes 7 and upwards , meaning online.

  24. 24 Ethan Belland
    February 7, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    It may sound like you’re creating problems yourself by wanting to solve this concern as an alternative to checking out why their issue in the start.

  25. 25 RenWilley
    December 23, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my weblog so i came to “go back the
    want”.I’m attempting to to find issues to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to make use of a few of your concepts!!


Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 425,813 people have visited here this month.

