15
Sep
06

iTunes 7 – Memory Leak, Bad News

I have been reading blogs and forums about people updating to the new v7 of iTUNEs and the problems they are having.

One major problem is with the new Album Fipping feature – it seems to have a memory leak. Some users say iTunes is using half a gig of memory running the program – that’s crazy! I am guessing iTunes is caching the album covers and not realeasing them when the user is finished.

CoverFlow

Here’s the info about it – http://www.hicks-wright.net/blog.php?id=5162

…..Yikes! 552 megabytes! And it wasn’t even playing music. And it was minimized. To the system tray. And less than 200 of my albums actually have cover art.

Apparently, Apple is caching every single image in memory, just in case I decide to scroll all the way back to the other end, despite the fact that I can do the first scroll with no performance problems.

Ok, what if I switch out of CoverFlow mode? Down to 307 mb. Great. They’re caching, and they’re not freeing them, even when there is no possible way for me to view them. Even if I minimize it again, so that there is absolutely no possible way for me to directly access the cover art, the 300+ megs remain in memory. The only way to clear it out is to restart iTunes…

The verdict: Hold off on using CoverFlow until they fix this in what I can only imagine is the soon-to-be-released version 7.01….


0 Responses to “iTunes 7 – Memory Leak, Bad News”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 425,199 people have visited here this month.

