21
Aug
06

Microsoft Zune – my next player?

zune

I have been reading up a bit about this Zune player from Microsoft – very interesting. of course pro ipoders will say it’s no good but I’ll wait until I see one.

This is what it is reported to have:

• The navigation controller that looks like it might be a wheel isn’t actually a wheel, it’s just a standard 4-way thumb-pad. The longer you hold it up or down, the faster you scroll through lists.

• The GUI is something like Windows MCE 2005.

• Displays album art while playing music, or a graphical visualization routing similiar to those found in MCE.

• Has an FM radio receiver and an FM transmitter. The transmitter can feed artist and song title information to receivers that can make use of it. Some GM cars are capable of displaying this info on the radio’s display, apparently.

• Has WiFi and Capture (FM record?) options in the menu, but they were disabled in the prototype.

• It does play video, and the screen orientation can be rotated into landscape mode.

• Earphones have a magnetized housing that makes them stick together (for easier cord management) and the backside of the player is magnetized as well so you can store them there when not in use.

• Has an iPod-like dock connector on the bottom edge.

• Player casing is plastic and semi-transparent.

• Comes with pre-loaded music from .

This info is fromGizmodo

zuneblackandwhite1

 

this pic is from Gizmodo.


4 Responses to “Microsoft Zune – my next player?”


  1. 1 thedp
    August 24, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    What kind of company places magnets on an electronics device???

  2. August 25, 2006 at 8:47 am

    Thanks for the comment Champ. Like I said, pro-ipoders will say it’s bad even before they are out in stores.
    If you know anything about electronics and magnetism – the small magnet in the earbuds would not make any difference to either the person or the hard-drive. Gee, even my Apple earbuds have magnets, have you tried putting the two buds together? I have read this comment on heaps of forums and it is a non-fact, it’s just not true – just people saying things that they just either don’t understand or refuse to believe.

  3. 3 thedp
    September 7, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    But there is a difference between a weak magnet of a headphone and a more powerful magnet of a speaker. But I guess they couldn’t be that stupid to release it before testing it.

    So yeah, I guess I’m Anti from the start 🙂
    And I’m basicly a noob-ipoder 🙂

  4. September 7, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    Im not anti zune but I love my ipod Nano – it does exactly what i want and does it well. I doubt that new ipods or the zune would suit me better


Leave a Reply Please

Subscribe to this Blog Subscribe to this Blog.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Readers


View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
View Entire Community Provided by MyBlogLog

Blog Stats

  • 425,813 people have visited here this month.

